A Letter to My Hubby on our Anniversary

SCAN0003Forgive me for posting something so personal, but my husband is just so great, I had to share!

Happy Anniversay, Hon!

Seventeen years! What a ride. I’ve learned so much from you, honey.
1. I’ve learned what true beauty is.
Before we were married, I couldn’t ever think of myself as beautiful. But, every time you look at me, every time you speak about me, every time I see my face reflected back in your eyes, I know that I am beautiful, inside and out. Seeing my true beauty is a gift you have given me.
2. I’ve learned what true friendship is.
Before we were married, I had lots of friends; I am lucky enough to still count a lot of them as my friends today. But living with you has made me realize what friendship means. It means listening and supporting without any judgment. It means helping and encouraging, even when things looks bleak. It means always giving more and taking less. You are the first person I want to share anything important with, good or bad.
3. I’ve learned what true love is.
Before we got married, I bought into the fairytale version of true love. And though we have close to that version, we also have so much more. True love is getting up with kids in the middle of the night to help me clean up vomit. True love is making me laugh when my day needs a little brightening. True love is sticking up for me when I’m right and gently reminding me when I’m wrong. True love is holding my hand, occasionally holding your tongue, and always carefully holding my heart–close to yours, as tenderly as you’ve held each of our newborn babes. We may not be perfect, but we are perfect for each other. Love from here to eternity. You are my greatest blessing, and always will be.

Leave a Reply

