You Are of More Value

I was about half way through my run this morning when I noticed something floating in the sky. It slowly drifted downward, bouncing slightly from side to side as it continued its descent from the heavens. Since Fall is in full swing, I assumed it was a very small leaf. But then, I saw that no trees were close, and there wasn’t a wind. Curious, I decided to reach out and grab it.
I didn’t even have to break my stride or reach very far; the object drifted right into my open, gloved palm. I looked down while continuing my run and saw a tiny little feather.
“Huh, that’s funny,” I thought to myself. Then, immediately a scripture popped into my mind. I wasn’t sure of the exact wording, but I knew it had something to do with sparrows and how if God notices the fall of a sparrow, He certainly notices and cares for us, His children. So I went home and looked it up. Matthew 10:29,31 reads: “Are not two sparrows sold for a farthing? and one of them shall not fall on the ground without your Father. Fear ye not therefore, ye are of more value than many sparrows. ”
DSCN0072

I couldn’t help but wonder at the small, tender mercy that had drifted my way, seemingly out of heaven itself. A message from a loving Father to one of His children. I didn’t even necessarily need this little love note today, but I am grateful for it. I’ll tuck it away in my memory and heart for the next time I wonder if God really knows me, really loves me. Then, I’ll think of the tiny feather, sparrows in flight, and the boundless love that God has for all His creations, especially for you and for me.

Leave a Reply

