Silence Isn’t Always Golden

 

      As any parent of a toddler knows, having your child out of your sight is dangerous.  Having your child absolutely silent while out of your sight portends great evil.  And having your child silent, out of your sight, and gone for more than five minutes usually means you’ll deeply regret not having investigated sooner.

A few days ago, I was reading to both of my younger girls.  Since it was the five-year-old’s turn to sit on my lap, my two-year-old wandered away.  The five-year-old and I were luxuriating in the opportunity to snuggle close with nothing but a book between us (i.e.no jealous two-year-old trying to push her sister out of my lap.)  I should have known those ten minutes would come with a consequence.  When I finally investigated, I found this:

DSCN0080
 

 

 

I’m not sure how her doggie got so “hurt”, but my two-year-old  kept repeating, “Doggie needs Band-Aids”.  She had already used up the entire box except three, so I didn’t fight three more.  My two-year-old is rather proud of her handiwork.   The five-year-old even joined in applying the last two Band-Aids.  I’m just glad they were a dollar store purchase so they didn’t break the bank.  The next time it’s too quiet, I’ll have to investigate a little sooner.
DSCN0079

4 thoughts on “Silence Isn’t Always Golden

  1. Awww, this made me smile. I sure do miss those ‘suspicion is quiet days’ Hopefully with all that extra love doggy is on the mend. Thanks for sharing. ~Blessings~

Leave a Reply

