Mr. Mom Teaches Me

Even though I am a stay-at-home mom, I am sometimes gone from my children, especially with my current church responsibilities. I know they are in good hands, though, since my husband is usually the one to take care of them while I am gone. But even he has moments when the little darlings become too much.

When I came home from an activity with the youth, an activity my oldest was actually with me on, my husband said, “Oh, I am so glad you are home!”

He then proceeded to say “The girls have been so crazy tonight. It seemed like all of them needed something at once, and when I would get done with one of them, the next would need me. I meant to get the dishwasher loaded and switch the laundry, but it just didn’t happen. I’m so tired. Can you put them to bed?”

I smiled a knowing smile and he said, “Oh, I know, this is how it is for you all the time, isn’t it?”

Well, yes, actually it is. And it felt good to have my hubby recognize that. I felt validated and appreciated.

But more than that, I learned I am not doing something wrong if all the household chores don’t get done. It is OK. The kids are more important. I knew that, usually live by that, but it was good to be reminded of it by my sweet hubby.

Most of all, I learned I married a pretty great guy. He cares enough that the kids get their piano practiced, homework done, etc. to let a little chaos reign while he’s trying to get those things accomplished. And he’s never complained if they laundry fairy’s wings have been clipped or the sink still looks like the leaning tower of dishes. Because he cares most about me being a mom.

Leave a Reply

