My Little “Bad Guy”

Three year-old is always up to something. Just when I think that she has outgrown her mischievous stage, she will come out with something else that proves me wrong.

First, she took a blue marker to the fabric cover of the piano bench for the heirloom piano that my mother-in-law gave us. Not happy. Nearly 50 years at her house and not one scratch. Two months at mine and the bench has a streak of blue.

And, speaking of blue streaks, I nearly swore one when we found three-year-old in this position. For some reason, she decided to climb in to the toilet, just after she had used it, but before she had flushed it, I might add. My hubby found her with feet in the bowl, looking as if she were contemplating diving right in. That earned her a swift trip to the bath tub and a lecture about how germy the toilet is. So far, no more toilet diving reported. Yet. Maybe it will become the new extreme sport. Probably not

diving
toilet
At dinner about a month ago, she decided, for no apparent reason to divest herself of her pants and underwear , stand up on her chair, turn around a wiggle her bare bum at us, all while singing a tune. Now, just in case you are wondering, I have never mooned my family at the dinner table, so she certainly didn’t get the idea from me. Nor have any of the other kids. She actually hasn’t had any examples of toilet diving or piano bench drawing either. She’s come up with all of these on her own.

But the best example of why I still worry about her may be this: the other day I was typing. She began to call out letter names I was keyboarding in and proceeded to tell me their sounds. After quizzing her on most of them, I exclaimed, “Wow, you are so smart! You can be anything you want to be when you grow up. You could be a doctor or a lawyer, or a scientist, anything!”

I smiled at her and gazed into her deceptively innocent blue eyes. Then I asked, “What do you want to be when you grow up?”

She looked at me, and without missing a single beat said, “A bad guy. I want to be the bad guy when I grow up.”

Mother of a future criminal genius, right here.

2 thoughts on “My Little “Bad Guy”

Leave a Reply

